Tag: 上海龙凤419论坛

Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray or Dwayne Haskins: Heisman voters gave no wrong answers

first_imgAs a first-time Heisman Trophy voter who had to decide among Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray and Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa this week, there is a piece of good news. There is no wrong answer, even if this is the most difficult vote possible. All three quarterbacks have a legitimate claim to college football’s most prestigious trophy, and that has created the most intriguing race this decade. Heisman voters have been asked not to reveal their picks until Sunday, and that’s fine. Let’s see who wins this race. MORE: The power of Tua, the megastar redefining Bama’s dynastyWhile the straw polls suggest the race will come down to Murray and Tagovailoa — and that could be the closest two-way quarterback race since Nebraska’s Eric Crouch (770) edged Florida’s Rex Grossman (702) by 62 points in 2001 — Haskins could force his way into that conversation Saturday.Haskins led Ohio State to a 12-1 record with a 4,580 passing yards, 47 touchdowns and eight interceptions. It’s arguably the greatest season by a quarterback in Big Ten history. In the Buckeyes’ last two games against Michigan and Northwestern, Haskins totaled 895 passing yards, 11 touchdowns and one interception. He will do well in the Midwest region.Murray has better numbers than Baker Mayfield, who won the Heisman for Oklahoma last season. Murray leads the FBS with a 205.7 rating. He has 4,053 passing yards, 40 touchdowns and seven interceptions, along with 892 rushing yards and 11 rushing scores. He led the Sooners back to the College Football Playoff and dominated the Big 12 championship game against Texas. The remarkable two-sport athlete will do well in the Southwest region.Tagovailoa was the front runner for the most of season, and with good reason. The hero of last year’s College Football Playoff championship game took Alabama’s offense to the next level. Tagovailoa passed for 3,353 yards with 37 touchdowns and four interceptions and added 190 rushing yards and five fives. He is second to Murray with a 202.3 passer rating. Tagovailoa didn’t throw an interception until November and threw just eight passes in the fourth quarter all season. He will be in good shape in the South region.There are arguments against all three. Haskins threw 73 passes in a 49-20 loss to Purdue and failed to lead Ohio State to College Football Playoff. Murray’s numbers are in part of a product of playing in the wide-open Big 12. Tagovailoa struggled in the SEC championship game and dealt with injuries for most of November.MORE: Murray’s winding path to greatness at OklahomaThe cases for those candidates, however, are much more appealing than the cases against them. That’s why the drama factor is high for the Heisman Trophy presentation on Saturday night. How will these candidates fare in the Northeast, Mid-Atlantic and Far West regions? That might determine how close this race is.If it does indeed come down to two of these quarterbacks, will this be the closest Heisman Trophy race of all time? That happened in 2009, when Alabama’s Mark Ingram (1,304) edged out Stanford’s Toby Gerhart (1,276) by 28 points.And if it comes down to Tagovailoa and Murray, it would be reminiscent of 2000, when Florida State quarterback Chris Weinke (1,628) edged out Oklahoma’s Josh Heupel (1,552) by 76 points. Heupel got revenge when his Sooners beat FSU 13-2 in the 2001 Orange Bowl to win the national championship.In that regard, it’s fitting that Murray and Tagovailoa will meet at the Orange Bowl in the College Football Playoff semifinal. We can guarantee they will score points. Meanwhile, Haskins will have a chance to get to 50 touchdown passes at the Rose Bowl in Urban Meyer’s final game with the Buckeyes.MORE: Haskins passes test in brilliant debut for Ohio State That’s as good as it gets for these three, and voters should be thankful they’re choosing among players who played at the highest level this season. There truly is no wrong answer, and that makes it both easy — and hard — for a first-time voter. There’s more good news. I’m not worried about that. I just want to see who wins the race.last_img read more

2014 Queensland State Championships Results

first_imgCongratulations to the winners from the 2014 Queensland State Championships, held at Redlands on the weekend. Men’s OpenSouth Queensland 8 defeated North Queensland 6Player of the Final – #3 Peter Norman (South Queensland)Women’s OpenSunshine Coast 7 defeated Brisbane City 2Player of the Final – #4 Catherine Sargent (Sunshine Coast)Mixed OpenBrisbane City 13 defeated Central Queensland 12Player of the Final – Female #1 Renee Fraser (Brisbane) Male #3 Cody Green (Brisbane)Men’s 20’sNorth Queensland 8 defeated Central Queensland 5Player of the Final – #22 Andrew Searle (North Queensland)Women’s 20’sBrisbane City 6 defeated Sunshine Coast 4Player of the Final – #23 Brytten Reynolds (Brisbane)Women’s 27’sBrisbane City 4 defeated North Queensland 2Player of the Final – #10 Davina Galetto (Brisbane)Men’s 30’sNorth Queensland 9 defeated Brisbane City 5Player of the Final – #22 Riki Best (North Queensland)Women’s 35’sCentral Queensland 8 defeated South West Queensland 3Player of the Final – #9 Tracy Williamson (Central Queensland)Men’s 40’sSouth Queensland 8 defeated Central Queensland 3Player of the Final – #9 Craig Scharer (South Queensland)Women’s 40’sBrisbane City 4 defeated South Queensland 3Player of the Final – #18 Lisa Miller (Brisbane)Men’s 45’sSouth Queensland 7 defeated South West Queensland 6Player of the Final – #38 Scott Pierce (South West Queensland)Men’s 50’sSunshine Coast 3 defeated Brisbane 2Player of the Final – #8 Peter Feldman (Sunshine Coast)Men’s 55’sNorth Queensland 6 defeated Sunshine Coast 4Player of the Final – #3 John Pattison (North Queensland)Regional Champions – Brisbane City For more news and results on the Queensland State Championships, please visit www.qldtouch.com.au.Related LinksQLD State Champs Resultslast_img read more

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén